Magi's Meals

Fabulous food to cook for your dude!

Quick Sirloin Steak Stir Fry

IMG_7217

This is one of the few meals that I would make when I actually felt like cooking when I lived in LA. As it says in my “About Me” section, I worked a lot the last few years I lived there, so I’d often pick up something easy from Trader Joe’s, or go out to dinner. This specific recipe though, is SO easy and delicious- I can’t believe I forgot about it! I do remember only making it once or twice, though- so I thought I’d resurrect it, and see what my boyfriend thought. As it turns out, he thought it was great!

How I made it:

1.25 lbs. of sirloin steak

2 red bell peppers

1 green bell pepper

3/4 of a yellow onion

2 large garlic cloves

2 handfuls of cherry tomatoes

2 tblsps. worcestershire sauce

Salt

Pepper

Garlic Salt

Olive Oil

IMG_7196

The thinner, the better!

IMG_7201

First, I highly recommend finding THIN CUT sirloin steak. If you can’t find that, you’ll want to pound your meat..I’ll get to that! Lay your pieces of sirloin steak on plastic wrap. Dice (or shred) your 2 large garlic cloves. Rub each side of each piece of meat with garlic, salt, and pepper. Let it sit and soak the flavor in while you prepare your veggies. If you have thicker steaks and want to pound your meat, cover your seasoned meat with a layer of plastic wrap, and pound until about 1/4 inches thick.

IMG_7199

Now, I used 2 red bell peppers and 1 green one, because I prefer the taste of red bell peppers. However, use as many of each kind of pepper as you’d like. 1 red, 1 green, 2 red, 2 green..whatever your preference. Core and seed the peppers, and slice into thin strips. Then Use about 3/4 of your yellow onion, and slice that into thin half-moon strips.

IMG_7204

Grab roughly 2 handfuls of cherry tomatoes, rinse, and simple cut in half. Set aside.

IMG_7207

Heat 2 tblsps. of olive oil in a large skillet on medium, and add your bell peppers and onions. Don’t add the tomatoes yet!

IMG_7208

I always trim as much fat off of my meat as I can.

While you’re cooking your veggies (and stirring occasionally to cook them evenly), slice your sirloin steak into thin strips.

IMG_7209

IMG_7211

Once your veggies and tender, add the cherry tomatoes and cook for no longer than 2 minutes. Put into a large bowl, and set aside. You’ll be adding this back into the skillet with the meat later.

IMG_7213

Make sure not to over-cook the sirloin! No one likes tough meat.

In the same skillet, heat up 1 tblsp. of olive oil. Add your meat. Cook each side for no longer than 1 minute if you want rare meat. 2-3 minutes on each side if you want your meat well done. Season with a dash of garlic salt.

IMG_7214

You can always add more worcestershire sauce, but I find that this meal is best with subtle flavor- too much can overwhelm the dish.

Once your meat is browned (don’t worry if there’s still some pink!) add back in the bell peppers, onions, and tomatoes. Stir in 2 tblsps. of worcestershire sauce. Continue to cook on medium for 1-2 minutes.

IMG_7217

You’re done! You can serve this over brown or white rice (I stuck with the low carb option, and served it alone.) You’ll have a nice juicy sauce in your skillet, so make sure to pour some of that over your dish. Next time, I think I’ll add sautéed mushrooms into the mix!

Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on September 6, 2013 by and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , .