Magi's Meals

Fabulous food to cook for your dude!

Asparagus in a Garlic Balsamic Marinade

IMG_7286

I learned about this quick little dish from my former roommate. It’s so flavorful, and goes so well with pretty much anything as a side dish. I love balsamic vinaigrette AND garlic, so my taste buds LOVE these marinated asparagus! You can make this with or without the cherry tomatoes- I had some lying around, so I threw them in. The sweet tomatoes tasted excellent with the balsamic!

What you’ll need for 2 servings:

Roughly 20 fresh asparagus (I picked mine up from Trader Joe’s)

1 tblsp. olive oil

2 tblsp. balsamic vinaigrette

2 cloves of garlic

Salt

Pepper

1 handful cherry tomatoes (optional!)

IMG_7264

IMG_7267

Grab and rinse about 20 asparagus (I used half of a package), and cut either in half, or in thirds. I always cut off about an inch or 2 of the bottoms and throw them away.

IMG_7273

Put your asparagus into a large ziplock bag. Dice/shred 3 cloves of garlic, and add to your bag.

IMG_7274

Then, dump 1 tblsp. of oil, and 2 tblsp. of balsamic to your bag, along with some salt and pepper.

IMG_7279

Tightly seal your bag, and shake it up to coat the asparagus! Refrigerate for about 45 minutes to an hour.

Heat a skillet over medium heat. You don’t need to use any oil, since there is enough in your marinade. Add the asparagus, and cook for about 6 minutes, stirring occasionally. I prefer my asparagus crispy, so I cook mine a bit longer.

IMG_7284

Halve a few cherry tomatoes (optional), and add to your skillet once your asparagus are about done. To avoid mushy, overdone tomatoes, don’t cook for longer than 2 minutes.

IMG_7286

You’re done! I paired mine with my teriyaki and honey glazed salmon, with some brown rice (see previous post for the recipe). This would also taste excellent next to a baked chicken breast, or on the side of pasta with a creamy garlic sauce.

IMG_7297

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

