Magi's Meals

Fabulous food to cook for your dude!

Refreshing Avocado and Tomato Salad

IMG_7450

I don’t know about you, but I tend to get pretty bored of salads. I eat salad for lunch at work most days- I buy the fancy ones from Trader Joe’s (they always have fun salads!) I try to eat healthy as much as possible, but since I LOVE to cook, eating salad again for dinner just isn’t an option for me. I don’t know- I almost feel like life’s too short not to indulge and eat what appeals to you the most!

I hate to say it, but I hardly cooked last week! Adjusting to my new work schedule has been tough. So when I went out to catch a movie the other night, my plans of making my quick (but very filling) avocado and tomato salad kind of went down the drain. The thing is, I had been waiting for days for my avocados to ripen, and they were perfect. So, I gave my boyfriend the list of how to make the salad, and he made it while I was out (he ate that, while I ate a garlic parmesan pretzel at the movie theater. Indulge when you can, eh?!)

Because I wasn’t home to have the salad with him, we ate the leftovers the next night and it was SO good, even though it was a day old (the photo I posted was taken the evening after the salad was made, but you can see how fresh it still is!) I really don’t recommend saving it for later, unless you don’t mind if your avocado turns slightly brown in some areas (drizzle some lemon juice over sliced avocado before refrigerating it, by the way- it keeps it from browning. Also, seal it in an air-tight container)

Now, I’ve seen many variations of this kind of salad- and I’ve made it a few different ways before. Down at the bottom, I will list some modifications you can do to make this a bit different! This is great as a side dish/salad, as an appetizer, or as the main course for lunch or dinner. Pair it with a cup of tomato soup, and you’ll be in heaven (I seriously love tomatoes).

Without further ado, here is the super quick, super easy recipe for a lovely avocado and tomato salad. Compliments to the substitute chef!

You need:

2 avocados sliced into bite sized chunks

2 large sliced tomatoes (I prefer romas)

1/4 sliced red onion

2 cloves of minced garlic

1/4 cup FRESH chopped parsley (you can leave this out if you’re not a fan)

2 tsp. dried oregano

Red wine vinegar

Good quality extra virgin olive oil

Lemon

Pepper

Salt

Now, when my boyfriend made this, he did a layer of sliced tomatoes (bottom), onions mixed with the garlic (middle), then the avocado chunks on top. You can do it this way OR just mix it all up. It’s up to you. Combine all of your veggies either layered on a dish, or mixed together carefully in a large bowl. Drizzle your salad with the oil and vinegar, give it a squeeze or two of lemon juice (remember, this helps combat the browning), and top all of that with salt, pepper, oregano, and parsley!

It’s delicious, and a tiny bowl filled me up.

Now, if you want to spice up the color of this dish and/or you’re taking this dish to a party to share, use multi-colored heirloom tomatoes instead of the regular tomatoes. I prefer the multi-colored cherry tomatoes, since they’re already bite-sized (I do still slice them once in half). You can find them almost anywhere, but I never fail to find them at Trader Joe’s.

Eliminate the avocado, and ADD cucumbers! Make a sliced cucumber and tomato (again, I prefer the multi-colored cherry tomatoes) salad. Finish it with the vinegar and oil, and add some dill and/or some feta cheese on top!

You can also swap the red wine vinegar for balsamic vinegar, but be careful, since balsamic is heavier/stronger, and it won’t look as pretty!

Enjoy!

One comment on “Refreshing Avocado and Tomato Salad

  1. Pingback: A quick healthy lunch |

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 16, 2013 by and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .
