Magi's Meals

Fabulous food to cook for your dude!

Grandma’s 20 Minute Chili

IMG_7511

There is nothing I hate more than Mondays. It’s the most exhausting day of the week, so the last thing I want to do is cook when I get home from work. Sunday night, I decided to make my great grandmother’s chili recipe. I knew it would make a TON of chili, meaning I could take the night off from cooking and relax Monday night after work since I would have so many leftovers. I was SO right (I love when that happens).

It was delicious. I love chili (and so does my boyfriend-what guy DOESN’T love chili?!) Sunday night, we ate it spooned over some brown rice (pictured). Monday night, we ate it with corn bread (that my boyfriend made!) Chili is a yummy, filling meal that lasts for days. It’s the perfect dish to cook before the start of a busy week. You can eat it plain, over rice, with cornbread, over a baked potato, or in a sourdough bread bowl. And it’s cheap to make! Plus, you can add your own ingredients to make it more fun. Lets get to the recipe!

1 lb. ground beef

3 cans kidney beans (I did 2 cans dark red, and 1 can light red because I like the different colors of the beans.)

2 cans diced tomatoes

1 white onion, diced

2 large cloves of garlic minced or shredded

2 tbsp. cumin

2 tbsp. chili powder

Salt and pepper to taste

IMG_7489

Chili powder and cumin

IMG_7492

I totally need a bigger pan.

Combine your meat, diced onion, garlic, cumin and chili powder in a non stick skillet (do not grease your pan.)

IMG_7496

AHHHHHH don’t forget to DRAIN your meat and onions before you mix it with the beans and tomatoes!

Cook until the meat is done and the onions are golden brown (about 6-8 minutes). Drain your meat and onion mixture to get rid of all of the grease.

IMG_7497

Beans, beans the magical fruit..

IMG_7500

IMG_7505

All done! Make sure everything is mixed well, and is nice and hot.

In a large pot, combine your 3 cans of beans, meat and onion mixture, and 2 cans of diced tomatoes. Stir well, and heat on medium low for about 8 minutes. Make sure everything in your pot is nice an hot! Add salt and pepper to taste (mine needed a lot of salt, but I tried to hold back since it’s not good for you.)

IMG_7511

Grandma’s chili over brown rice!

And that’s it. You’re done. So quick and easy! I filled up 2 Tupperware bowls with leftovers.

Chili for days!

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 18, 2013 by and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .
