Magi's Meals

Fabulous food to cook for your dude!

Halloween on my mind!

For the past week and a half I’ve been sick with a cold, and now the flu, so I’ve only cooked boring meals since then (if I’ve even cooked at all!) My boyfriend has been awesome, and cooked the dinner I was planning last night so I could rest. Since October is right around the corner, I’ve been thinking about Halloween non-stop lately. I seriously think I’m the only person I know that booked it to Michael’s Arts & Crafts as soon as their Halloween decorations came out in the beginning of August. So far, I’ve decorated with glitter pumpkins, spiders, cobwebs, black roses and garnish for spooky centerpieces, and I even strung up over 13 feet of purple and orange lights (well, my boyfriend did- I couldn’t reach). And this weekend, I’m going over to my parent’s house to loot their Halloween decorations.

The older I’ve gotten (and the more I come to terms with the fact that I am not allowed to trick or treat anymore and run through the street in my princess costume), the more inspired I get to create the perfect Halloween atmosphere and keep some of that childhood magic. I think it’s important to keep the spirit alive and get creative with your imagination the older you get- you never know who you can inspire, and you never know who’s day you might brighten when your holiday flair starts to show.

This year, I am doing my first “Halloween Horror-Thon”- a month long event, in which my boyfriend and I watch a new horror movie every other night. I started my list last month and plan on letting my friends know what movies I’m playing when, so they can come join in on the Halloween spirit. I’ve got zombie movies, alien movies, ghost movies, classics, and 90’s slasher flicks (I can’t wait to watch “Scream” and “I Know What You Did Last Summer”!) I’ve been scouring the internet for recipe ideas, and have started to come up with my own appetizer and main course ideas. It’s pretty tricky, but I know it will be a blast. And the best part is, whatever you cook for your Halloween theme doesn’t have to be perfect! It can be a little messy and icky looking, as long as it tastes good. I mean, it’s Halloween- if you’re watching “Night of the Living Dead” and you make “bloody eyeball” appetizers, the more gross it looks, the more fun it will be!

I’m also planning on making some awesome Halloween inspired cocktails for when my friends come join me some nights. I mean, I just found a recipe for pumpkin ale! And how awesome would it be to get served a cocktail in a martini glass with some dry ice spilling over the top? I really need October to come sooner though- I have enough fun in the kitchen every night as it is- I can only imagine how awesome it’s going to be when I get to plan themed menus!

Does anyone have any favorite Halloween traditions they’re looking forward to?

-M

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 26, 2013 by and tagged , , , , .
