Magi's Meals

Fabulous food to cook for your dude!

Stuffed Bell Peppers

IMG_7047

I’m still in a happy food mood from eating these last night. This recipe makes 6 bell peppers- and since there are 2 of us in my house- that makes lots of leftovers! I seriously probably eat bell peppers two or three times a week. Whether I slice them into strips and dip them in hummus, put them on sandwiches, in eggs, or salads, I find a way to sneak them into a lot of things I eat. My boyfriend never liked bell peppers until I started cooking with them (I make an awesome pasta with bell pepper sauce- I still need to post that!)

You need:

6 bell peppers, red or green (I’ve used both red and green before, and only red another time. Both are so yummy!)

1 lb. ground beef (or 1 1/2 if you want it to be super meaty)

1 egg, lightly beaten

2 cups rice (I always use brown)

1 yellow onion, diced

3 cloves of garlic, diced

1 1/2 tsp. Worcestershire sauce

1 tblsp. olive oil

1 8 oz. can of tomato sauce

1 14.5 oz. can of diced tomatoes

1/2 tsp. basil

1 tsp. oregano

Shredded cheese to sprinkle over the top (about 1/2 cup or as much as you’d like!)

Salt

Pepper

IMG_7045

Not pictured- juicy yellow onion!

Cut off the tops of the bell peppers, and hollow them out (remove seeds). Don’t throw the tops away! Dice up the pepper from the tops  (you’re going to saute this and stuff the bell peppers with this mixture later). Put the peppers in a large pot and fill the pot with enough SALTED (1 tsp.)  water to cover the top of the peppers.  Bring the water to a boil, reduce heat, cover, and simmer for about 5 minutes on medium-low. (Be careful not to boil them for too long, because they will wrinkle and kind of collapse. They will still be useable, but they will tear easily & be hard to work with.) Drain the peppers, and set aside.

Heat the olive oil in a large skillet over medium heat, and saute the diced onion, garlic, and diced peppers from the tops until tender. Then add in the tomato sauce and diced tomatoes, oregano, basil, and some salt and pepper (about 1tsp. each). Simmer this mixture on low for about 10 minutes.

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.

photo 1

While that’s simmering, lightly whisk or beat your egg and Worcestershire sauce together in a bowl. In a separate large bowl, pour the egg mixture in with your ground beef, and mix it together (I get into it with my hands since it’s so sticky- a spoon barely works).

photo 2

photo 3

Then add in 1 CUP of the tomato mixture and the cooked rice. I admit that I am a huge cheater when it comes to rice. I buy the instant stuff. Embarrassing.

Mix all of that together, and you’re ready to stuff your peppers! Use a small spoon to pack the mixture in, then pour the rest of the tomato mixture from the pan over the top of the peppers. I ended up with leftover filling, so I put it all into a ziploc bag, and put it in the freezer so I can make it again in half the time! That will be perfect for a lazy night.

IMG_7046

Ready to bake!

Put your stuffed peppers into an un-greased baking dish. I have these awesome rubber-like baking pans that I use (I got them as a gift with matching cupcake sleeves, a spatula, cookbook, and some other cool stuff!) They’re meant for baking, but since I have a few, I have one that I use strictly for non-sweet dishes.

Bake for 50 minutes, remove from the oven, sprinkle some shredded cheese on top (this is my boyfriend’s favorite part) and continue baking for 5 minutes. Remove from the oven, let cook for about 10 minutes, and eat!

IMG_7047

IMG_7048

It’s amazing, because these are so filling, and almost even better when you re-heat them the next day.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

