Magi's Meals

Fabulous food to cook for your dude!

Gearing up for Christmas!

Stuffed Mushrooms

Stuffed Mushrooms

Wow, it’s been a while! I completely missed Thanksgiving on my blog since I’ve been a bit busy, but I’m back in action as my boyfriend and I are getting ready to host Christmas Eve at our place. Instead of doing a big dinner, we have decided to do cocktails and hors d’oeuvres, which is going to be so fun!

I’ve been making a list of treats to put on the menu for the past few weeks, and last night I decided to start experimenting. I made stuffed mushrooms a few weeks ago when we hosted my parents for dinner, and they came out OK (I broiled them, but I didn’t like how they turned out!) Since I wasn’t satisfied with the outcome but I KNEW I could conquer making a fabulous stuffed mushroom hors d’oeuvre, my boyfriend and I bought the ingredients last night, and I went to work.

Here’s how it happens:

1 carton of mushrooms de-stemmed (you can use button mushrooms, which are most common, but I use crimini mushrooms, which are brown on the outside)

8 oz. of cream cheese

4-5 stalks of fresh green onion, diced

4-5 slices of bacon, diced (I use meat scissors to cut the strips into tiny pieces)

1 tablespoon grated parmesan cheese

Italian bread crumbs (to dip the tops of the stuffed mushrooms in)

1/4 teaspoon of garlic powder

1-2 pinches of pepper

**Be careful about how much salt you add! We found that 1 pinch was too much for us because of the bacon and garlic powder!

Set your cream cheese on the counter to soften while you clean and de-stem the mushrooms. I clean them by dampening a paper towel and gently wiping the mushrooms- If you rinse them, they become slimy and a bit hard to work with. Grab the stem of the mushroom as close as you can to the base, give it a small twist, and the it should come out in one clean pull. Set aside.

Dice (or cut) your 4-5 pieces of bacon into small pieces. Cook them in a skillet on low for about 15 minutes, or until done. Drain the bacon grease (I like to put them on paper towels in a bowl for a few minutes to absorb as much of the fat as possible.) Dice your green onions and combine them in a bowl, along with the cream cheese and bacon bits. Add grated parmesan cheese, garlic powder and pepper.

IMG_8563

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees, and start stuffing the mushrooms. After you’ve stuffed one, turn it over and dip the mushroom in bread crumbs as a topping. This will brown nicely in the oven, and make the mushrooms nice and crispy! You can put them on an un-greased baking sheet, and bake them for 15-20 minutes.

I’m really happy with how these turned out, and I can’t wait to make them again on Christmas Eve!

IMG_8570

I had to post a picture of our tree!

I had to post a picture of our tree!

Leave a Reply

